NEA Convention

June 30-July 5, 2017

Register now >>

Delegates from across the state of Missouri will travel to Boston June 30-July 5 for the 2017 NEA Representative Assembly to discuss the NEA budget, vote on New Business Items, learn, and meet other members from around the country. Missouri NEA sends a delegation of members elected on a statewide electronic ballot (state delegates) as well as members elected by locals from across the state (local delegates). In addition, the student members elect delegates to represent them via an electronic ballot (student delegates) and retired members elect delegates at their annual meeting in April (retired delegates). Other delegates attend the RA by virtue of their elected office (ex officio delegates). 

For more information about the NEA R.A., contact Maggie Brueggemann ( at 573-644-9622.

All registrations must be complete by May 28.  Registration closes on May 28.

Click here to view a delegate roster listing all State, Local and Cluster delegates on file. If you see any errors – someone who is not on the list and should be or vice versa – call Jeanna at 573-644-9623 or Maggie at 800-392-0236 IMMEDIATELY. 

Click here for a basic agenda of the events leading up to and during the NEA Representative Assembly. 

Maggie will be sharing information periodically via her blog at Please subscribe and follow the blog to stay up to date. 

State delegates

Missouri’s state delegate allocation will be made based on membership as of January 2017. State delegates are elected in two categories. Category I delegates are teachers, education support professionals and other members not serving as administrators. Category II delegates are administrators and others serving in supervisory positions that include evaluation of employees. Missouri qualified for 24 teacher/ESP delegates and one delegate slot for an administrator. The MNEA Vice President fills one state delegate slot.

We must continue to work for the identification and election of minority candidates to serve as delegates to the NEA Representative Assembly. Missouri NEA is proud that we have met our 3-1(g) goal for 20 years.

Ex officio delegates

Ex officio delegates serve by virtue of the statewide office to which they've been elected, such as MNEA President and NEA Directors.

Local Delegates

Local delegates are elected by the members of a local affiliate, with one delegate per 150 members, or a greater portion thereof. (Any local with 76 or more members is eligible for at least one local delegate). Presidents of locals eligible to send local delegates will receive information via email from NEA regarding local elections in early February. Members should contact their local presidents to learn the procedures, timelines and reimbursement procedures for local delegates.

Cluster delegates

Cluster delegates are elected by members of several locals who have networked to attain the minimum 76 members required for delegate eligibility. Members interested in being elected as cluster delegates should contact Jeanna Machon at 573-644-9623. Cluster delegate elections are conducted during March and April.

MNEA-Retired delegates

MNEA-Retired members elect delegates from their membership to represent them at the NEA R.A. Only MNEA-Retired members may nominate, vote for and serve as retired delegates. Election of the MNEA-R delegates will be held at the MNEA-R annual meeting on April 21 at Lodge of Four Seasons. Contact Pam Koetting for more information. 

MNEA-R Declaration of Candidacy Form >> (deadline March 15 to be listed on ballot)

MNEA-Student delegates

The number of delegates allocated for MNEA-Student group will be determined based on the number of student members in the state. Only student members may nominate, vote for and serve as student delegates. Contact Stephanie Price if you are a MNEA-Student member and interested in becoming a delegate. 

MNEA-Student Declaration of Candidacy Form >> (deadline April 7)


Add This
Decrease Text Size
Printer Friendly Version
Missouri NEA's 
edCommunities Live

Sat., Oct. 7, 2017
8 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

Doubletree Hotel at Westport 
1973 Craigshire, St. Louis

Free Event

Open to all educators

You do not need to be a member of MNEA to attend this event. Invite your friends and colleagues to MNEA's edCommunities LIVE Saturday, Oct. 7.