Missouri Advisory Council of Certification for Educators, established within the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education is composed of 25 members to be appointed by the State Board of Education upon the recommendation of the commissioner of education. Of the 25 members, at least 15 must be active public school classroom teachers. 

Missouri NEA currently has six voting seats on MACCE. The MNEA representatives serving as of September 2021 are Jenna Adkins (Raytown C-2 Schools), Kyla Ward (St. Joseph Public Schools), Laurie Brickey (Mehlville School District), Jacqueline McGill (St. Louis City Schools), Rachelle Banhart (Lexington R-V School District), and Allison O'Very (Pattonville School District), who was elected MACCE chairperson for 2021-2022. 

MNEA Vice Pres. Rebeka McIntosh ( and MNEA Teaching & Learning Director Samantha Hayes ( also attend the meetings of MACCE. After each meeting, they write a report and may issue alerts to staff and members about upcoming policy changes that may negatively impact educators. 

View Reports 


Duties and Responsibilities of MACCE

1) Making recommendations for the criteria and procedures whereby the quality and effectiveness of teacher and school administrator education programs within the state shall be evaluated.

2) Making recommendations for the requirements for the certification of public school teachers and administrators.

3) Making recommendations for the standards for renewal of certificates for public school teachers and administrators using academic course work as well as other types of professional development.

4) Making recommendations concerning rules and regulations with respect to suspension and revocation of certificates of license to teach.

5) Requesting and receiving reports from committees consisting of representatives from various professional groups, qualified in respective curriculum areas and other specialized areas, to assist in the formulation of recommendations of the advisory committee to the commissioner of education with respect to certification of public school teachers and administrators.

6) Making recommendations for limiting the issuance of temporary certificates that are granted to those who do not meet the full requirements for certification.