Potosi NEA member named 2024 Missouri Teacher of the Year

Congratulations to the 2024 Missouri State Teacher of the Year Missouri NEA member Greg Kester. 

Kester teaches social studies at Potosi High School in the Potosi R-III School District. 

Missouri NEA is proud to represent three of the seven finalists, now part of an elite group of educators. 

  • David Choate, Rockwood R-VI — English Language Arts, Lafayette High School
  • Maria F. Derner, Belton 124 — English Language Development, Belton High School
  • Greg Kester, Potosi R-III — Social Studies, Potosi High School

    Other finalists: Kaylin Bade, Washington School District; Sabria El-Kurbu, Moberly School District; Heather Helle, Scott City R-1; Kathryn Victoria Inman, Greenville R-II

Kester will serve as Missouri’s representative in the National Teacher of the Year program. He will be honored during DESE’s Teacher of the Year recognition event Mon., Oct. 16, along with the other finalists, semi-finalists, and Regional Teachers of the Year.


Read more on the DESE website.