Legislative Forums


It’s never too early to start mobilizing your membership to “save the date” and to make plans to come to one of Missouri NEA’s regional legislative forums, MNEA’s new format for legislative receptions, or Capitol Action Days in the spring. Check the schedule below for the 2017 MNEA Legislative activity in your area. Start making your list now of those members, administrators and school board members who would enjoy and benefit from a discussion regarding support for public education!

The legislative events will be held on the same days already selected in the MNEA calendar, but the location and time may change. Each of these free events will be a legislative panel or discussion forum and will not be based around a meal. As before, these events provide a chance for members to build relationships with area legislators and support their understanding of MNEA priorities and education issues. Regional planning committees are working with other local leaders to identify at least one member per legislator to attend the event, invite the legislator personally and follow up with further conversation. 

Attend on a date that works for you, 
even if it’s outside your Governance District. 

Legislative Forums 2017

JANUARY
Thursday, Jan. 12 – Central Missouri Regional Legislative Forum RSVP Now 
                                    Rock Bridge High School Cafeteria, 4303 S. Providence Rd, Columbia

Saturday, Jan. 21 – St. Louis Legislative Forum RSVP Now
                    Parkway Central Middle School• 471 N. Woods Mill Rd., Chesterfield

APRIL 
Saturday, April 8 – Kansas City Legislative Forum RSVP Now 
                                  Nowlin Middle School• 2800 S. Hardy Ave., Independence

Thursday, April 13 – Jefferson County/Southeast Legislative Forum RSVP Now 
                                     Jefferson College – Student Center, Viking Room• 1000 Viking Dr., Hillsboro


Capitol Action Days 2017

FEBRUARY
Wednesday, Feb. 15 – Governance Districts 2 and 10 CAD
Wednesday, Feb. 22 – Governance District 1 CAD

MARCH 
Wednesday, March 1 – Governance District 3 CAD
Wednesday, March 8 – Governance Districts 4, 5, 7 and 8 CAD
Wednesday, March 29 – Governance District 6 CAD

APRIL 
Wednesday, April 5 – Governance Districts 9 and 11 CAD
Wednesday, April 12 – MNEA-Retired CAD
Wednesday, April 26 – Governance Districts 7 and 10 CAD

MAY 
Wednesday, May 3 – MNEA-Retired CAD

For additional information on meeting places scheduled for legislative events, contact Sandy Smith at 573-644-9608 or sandy.smith@mnea.org