Law Day Essay Contest Winners

Posted Date: 4/1/2020

2020 Missouri NEA/Missouri Bar 
Law Day Essay contest winners

The Missouri NEA Communications and Media Advisory Committee and the Missouri Bar Young Lawyers Section co-sponsor the annual Law Day Essay Contest, which this year required students to write essays of 700 words or less responding to the following prompts:

Essay prompts

Grades 9-12: The Nineteenth Amendment, giving women the right to vote, represented a revolutionary change in our constitutional system.

  • What was it about the Nineteenth Amendment that constituted such a change?
  • Do you believe the addition of the Nineteenth Amendment to our Constitution brought substantial change to American society?
  • In your view, what additional changes should occur in our society to fulfill the promise of the Nineteenth Amendment?

Grades 4-8: Before the Nineteenth Amendment was added to the Constitution, only men could vote. The Nineteenth Amendment gave the right to vote to women also.

 Changes like the Nineteenth Amendment give more people the right to vote. Yet, some people choose not to vote. Why is that true? What changes would you suggest to encourage more people to exercise their right to vote?

First-place winners received prizes of $300, second-place winners received prizes of $200, and third-place winners received prizes of $150 from the Missouri Bar. Winners also received framed certificates.

David Hope, Special District NEA member and chairperson of the MNEA Communications and Media Advisory Committee, served as regional judging coordinator for the event. Following are the 2020 Law Day Essay regional winners.

Grades 4-5
1st Place - Kailyn Anderson, Parkway School District
2nd Place - Marin Schaub, Liberty School District
3rd Place - Alexis Burroughs, Pattonville School District

Grades 6-8
1st Place - Claire Echternacht, Camdenton R-III School District 
2nd Place - Avalon Enemark, Camdenton R-III School District 
3rd Place - Olivia Franken, Camdenton R-III School District 

Grades 9-12
1st Place - Katelin Meek, Smithville School District 
2nd Place - Easton Cromer, Lebanon School District
3rd Place - Anusha Chakraborty, Springfield School District 

Related Taxonomy
  - News


Be the first to leave a comment.
Please Login to post comments.
Add This
Decrease Text Size
Printer Friendly Version