TEACHER CERTIFICATION AND NATIONAL BOARD CERTIFICATION

Teacher Certification

Missouri now has a two-tiered certification plan. Here are some of the general certification requirements. One (1) hour of college credit counts as fifteen (15) contact hours of professional development.

Initial Professional Certificate

This four-year license is issued to new college graduates and to teachers with less than four years of experience. In order to maintain your initial certificate and qualify for your career certificate, you must:

• Complete a criminal background check.
• Participate in a district mentoring program for a minimum of two years.
• Complete 30 contact hours of professional development, which may include hours in an appropriate college class.
• Participate in a beginning teacher assistance (BTA) program. These hours do not count toward your professional development hours.
• Complete a performance-based teacher evaluation.
• Have a local professional development plan.
• Complete four years of teaching as defined by the state board of education.

Career Continuous Professional Certificate

This certificate will be continuous (life) based upon completion of 15 contact hours of professional development per year, which may include hours in an appropriate college class. Career educators must continue to participate in yearly performance-based teacher evaluations.

Educators will be exempt from the professional development requirement if they meet any two of the following standards.

• Complete 10 years of teaching as defined by the state board of education.
• Complete a master's degree.
• Obtain rigorous national certification as approved by the state board of education.

Current certificate holders

Holders of PCI, PCII and CPC certificates will be issued the appropriate level of certification based on their teaching experience and fulfillment of requirements. Holders of lifetime certificates issued prior to Sept. 1, 1988, will continue to be exempt from new certification laws.

Out-of-state applicants

The law allows the state board to issue a certificate to any person who possesses a valid teaching certificate from another state. The Missouri certificate will be commensurate with the applicant's years of experience in the other state. Out-of-state applicants must complete a background check.

Additional information

For more information go to the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) educator certification website at http://dese.mo.gov/educator-quality/certification.

Print your individual teaching certificate or check status of your Missouri teaching certificate at https://apps.dese.mo.gov/weblogin/login.aspx. (You'll need your name and social security number.) If you have not logged in to your certification account in more than 12 months, you will need to register for a new userid and password in order to restore your access. The directions to complete this process are located in the Educator Certification System Help Guide.


National Board Certification


National Board Certification (NBC) is a voluntary advanced teaching credential and a challenging professional development experience offered by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS).

NBC Facts and Background

National Board Certification Seminar

Current Missouri NBC teachers

NBCT e-mail listserv 

 

 

 

 

 

Add This
Decrease Text Size
Printer Friendly Version
Teacher
Words Matter Contest

Tell your story by Feb. 28, 2017

How did a teacher, coach, school counselor, bus driver or other school employee influence you in a positive way?

You have a chance to win $500 by submitting your story online at TeacherWordsMatter.org.

Contest Entry >>