Delegates represent Missouri at the NEA Convention in Orlando July 1-6, 2015

The nation’s largest democratic body will meet in Orlando, July 1-6, for the 2015 NEA Representative Assembly. Missouri NEA will be represented by the following categories of delegates.

State delegates

State delegates are elected in two categories. Category I delegates are teachers, education support professionals and other members not serving as administrators. Category II delegates are administrators and others serving in supervisory positions that include evaluation of employees. Missouri qualifies for 24 Category I delegates and one Category II delegate. The president, vice president and NEA directors are automatically ex officio delegates. Following are the results of the state delegate election that took place Feb. 1-Mar. 1:

Ex officio delegates —who serve by virtue of the office to which they've been elected are— President Charles E. Smith, Vice President Brent Fullington, NEA Director Phil Murray and NEA Director Lisa Kickbusch

Category I state delegates
Listed in alphbetic order.

Mathieu "Matt" Agee, Meramec Valley
Melissa Albright, Springfield
Carrie Begemann, Odessa
Holly Bennett, Kingsville
Lonzo Boles, North Kansas City
Grace Marie Clifford, Francis Howell
Heather Felix, Wellington-Napoleon
Jesse Hiett, Springfield
Carmen Hill, St. Louis
Donna Malkmus, Francis Howell
Rebeka McIntosh, Grandview
Jane Ann McWilliams-Sykes, St. Louis
Monica Miller, Columbia
Stacey Mitchem, Independence
Treena Murray, Poplar Bluff
Scott Preston, Hickman Mills
Kristina Rieman, Rockwood
Renee Schloss, Center
Don Schulte, Pattonville
Michelle Shepard, Columbia
Andy Slaughter, Meramec Valley
Jason Steliga, Center
Lindi Todd, Lees Summit

Category II state delegate (administrator)
Patrick Layden, Independence

Category I alternates
Alternates are listed in the order they will be called for substitution. 
Tresina Alvested, Odessa
Lisa Baldwin, North Kansas City
Dana Alvarez, North Kansas City
Cassidy Urie, Columbia
Leslie Schottel, North Kansas City
Allison O'very, Pattonville
Amanda Bearden, North Kansas City
Dean Klempke, Columbia
Rachel Braden, Galena
Netty Doyle, Independence
Steve Epley, North Kansas City
Gillian Slaughter, Parkway
Sally Chisholm, Northwest
Robin Dees, Ferguson-Florissant
Paul Brother, Camdenton
Matthew Rorabaugh-Irwin, Independence
Liz Henderson, Park Hill
Kim Heumann, Pattonville
Jane McPartland, Hazelwood
Caryn Deckard, Joplin

Category II alternate
Christopher Smith, Springfield


Local Delegates

Local delegates are elected by the members of a local affiliate, with one delegate per 150 members. Members should contact their local presidents to learn the procedures, timelines and reimbursement procedures for local delegates. 

Cluster delegates

Cluster delegates are elected by members of several locals who have networked to attain the minimum 76 members required for delegate eligibility. Members interested in being elected as cluster delegates should contact Jeanna Machon at (800) 392–0236. Cluster delegate elections are conducted during March and April.

MNEA-Retired delegates

MNEA-Retired members elect delegates from their membership to represent them at the NEA R.A. Only MNEA-R members may nominate, vote for and serve as retired delegates. Election of the MNEA-R delegates will be held at the MNEA-R annual meeting on April 17 at Lodge of Four Seasons. Contact Laverne Copeland for more information.

MNEA-R Declaration of Candidacy Form (deadline April 12)

MNEA-Student delegates

The number of delegates allocated for MNEA-Student group will be determined based on the number of student members in the state. Only student members may nominate, vote for and serve as student delegates. Contact Stephanie Price if you are a MNEA-Student member and interested in becoming a delegate.

MNEA-Student Declaration of Candidacy Form (deadline Feb. 27)

Posted Date: 3/23/2015
Add This
Decrease Text Size
Printer Friendly Version

Get the latest information at

Share your story

Even though we are not at school supporting Missouri students, members continue to help every day during this crisis. MNEA wants to share your stories as we struggle through the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic.

We are hearing about members who are continuing to care for their students by

  • volunteering at school district Grab & Go meal distribution centers and food drives
  • providing child care for essential medical staff
  • shopping for the elderly so they don’t have to leave the safety of their homes

Your stories help show that educators don’t stop caring. Please send your stories with pictures to MNEA at, so we can share them. You can post to social media, making sure you tag @MissouriNEA and use the hashtags  #MNEAheroes and  #MNEAprotects.